Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Coughlin ‘Sick’ Over Giants’ Non-TD; Photo Indicates Refs Missed Call

Game officials seemingly missed a call on an apparent first-quarter touchdown catch by Giants tight end Jake Ballard against the Green Bay Packers. The officials ruled Ballard was out of bounds on the play and coach Tom Coughlin challenged during the Giants’ 38-35 loss to the undefeated Packers on Sunday. Referee Jeff Triplette reviewed the play and upheld the call on the field. Asked about losing two challenges in the game, Coughlin said Monday he felt nauseous about the first one because he had just seen a still photo of the play and Ballard had one knee down in the end zone, making it a touchdown. “I just saw a picture which made me sick to my stomach, which Fox produced and showed, that he’s in,” Coughlin said. NFL spokesman Greg Aiello said officials don’t look at still photos when they review a play. With the score tied 7-7, Coughlin said the original call on Ballard’s catch was too close not to challenge. He lost the review, but said looking at the photo on Monday made the decision feel worse. “Don’t ask me about that because I really don’t know why,” said Coughlin. “I challenged the Ballard thing, no question about that one. I wasn’t going to not challenge that and have somebody tell me, ‘You know he was in?’” New York settled for Lawrence Tynes’ field goal after the ruling on the field was upheld.

No comments:

Post a Comment